Akash Dowra

Age: 23
Where on the planet are you currently located:
Durban, South Africa
So what exactly is your job and how did you go about to achieve that career path:
I am a trainee accountant at Deloitte. I attended High School at Port Shepstone High School, and excelled at accounting and maths. It was then that I discovered my love for numbers and that is why I decided to become a CA. I studied at UKZN, and completed my studies. I tutored accounting in my honours year, and marked scripts while an article clerk. I think it is very important that we give back to our communities now that we have reached our goal. (FirstStep.me says: We like that thinking!)

What’s a typical working day for you:  
I make a “to do” list then go out and conquer! It takes a lot of planning, meetings with the client, and helping out my team with the different sections, then I look at my sections and tick and bash.
All jobs have challenges, what would you say are some of yours:
Dealing with people has got to be the single most challenging thing in our job. Your success depends so much on the efforts and attitudes of other people, and you have to manage them.
Where do you see yourself in five years time:
Hopefully very high up the corporate ladder!
Do you believe in studying as a key to success in all careers:
Studying is very important, however I think it is very important to be practical in whatever you do! Businesses run on practicality.
Do you have any career role models that helped motivate your success:
My dad, attempted accounting when he was younger, but could not complete due to family obligations, he has provided me with the strength, and perseverance.
Highlights of your career so far:
Passing board and coming out 6th!
Funniest moment of your career so far:
The late nights always create situations that are funny! Funniest moment was when we played a prank on the first year, and got her to walk through a garden trying to count birds that kept on flying away!(FirstStep.me says: that’s not nice!)
Okay serious questions over:
If you weren’t a CA you would be a doctor.
How many countries have you travelled through in the last 5 years:1
What is your favourite movie, website and book:
Shawshank redemption, google, Lord of the Rings
If you could live on and have your very own planet what would you name it:
Giant Peach (FirstStep.me: Laughing…very clever!)
Do you have any role models past and present who inspire you:
My parents show me the strength in character I need to succeed.
What message do you have for the youth of the world:
The difference between almost and victory is will power.